Comparison · verified 28 August 2026
Psynopsis vs PMHScribe
PMHScribe is a psychiatry-and-counseling AI scribe founded by a PMHNP, with a Counseling plan at $79 and a Psychiatry plan at $99 a month. Psynopsis is also psychiatry-specific and PMHNP-built, which makes this the closest comparison on this site. The differences are in medication references, structured MSE and SI/HI, post-session dictation, documented compliance scope and price.
Choose Psynopsis if…
- You want medication references alongside a psychiatric documentation workflow
- You want an MSE review workflow with explicit safety selections
- You need post-session dictation for patients you would rather not record
- You handle substance-use records and want 42 CFR Part 2 handling and audio policy stated on the vendor’s site
- You want 5 free hours to test with synthetic examples and a $75 monthly clinical plan with a BAA
Choose PMHScribe if…
- •You are a therapist, counselor or psychologist and want a plan built around psychotherapy, DAP and BIRP notes
- •You want letters, orders, prior-authorization and patient medication-education documents from the same tool
- •Your group wants coupon-code discounts and consistent branding across clinicians
- •You value a large base of published PMHNP reviews and want to support a PMHNP-founded company
Feature by feature
| Feature | Psynopsis | PMHScribe |
|---|---|---|
| Psychiatric documentation | ||
| Built for psychiatric clinicians | Prescribing psychiatrists and PMHNPs | Psychiatrists, PMHNPs, therapists, PAs |
| Medication reconciliation against the previous plan | Medication references; clinician verifies doses | Medication-management notes; dose checks not stated |
| MSE auto-population with abnormal findings highlighted | Clinician-reviewed chart-by-exception workflow | Not stated |
| SI/HI as structured fields (passive/active, plan, intent, means, protective factors) | Not stated | |
| Note formats | Psychiatric evaluation, medication management, follow-up with diagnosis-organized A&P | SOAP, DAP, BIRP; initial psychiatric evaluation; psychotherapy add-ons |
| Coding support | MDM-structured documentation for E&M | ICD-10 and CPT codes in the note |
| Workflow | ||
| Post-session dictation (no recording) | Not stated as a mode; dictation mentioned in user reviews | |
| Ambient recording of the visit | Yes — unlimited session time | |
| Getting the note into your EHR | Structured text via Chrome extension | Copy and paste the finalized note |
| Telehealth visits | Yes — browser-based | Yes — dedicated telehealth page |
| Letters, prior authorization, patient medication education | Letters and orders on both plans; prior-auth and medication-education pages | |
| Compliance | ||
| HIPAA + BAA | HIPAA; BAA included on paid plans | HIPAA compliant; BAA not stated |
| 42 CFR Part 2 handling | Not stated (addiction-medicine page exists) | |
| Audio never stored | Not stated | |
| NPI verification at signup | Not stated | |
| Export or delete your data | User-controlled, any time | Not stated |
| Pricing | ||
| Free tier | 5 free hours for testing, $0 | Free trial, no credit card |
| Prescriber plan | $75 / mo Professional | $99 / mo Psychiatry |
| Therapist plan | Same plan, $75 / mo | $79 / mo Counseling |
| Groups | Enterprise — custom, multi-user, admin dashboard | Coupon-code discounts; enterprise 50+ clinicians via sales |
| Built by | Practicing PMHNP | PMHNP-founded (per site) |
PMHScribe facts from pmhscribe.com (home page and its pricing section; pmhscribe.com/pricing returned 404) and the use-case pages linked from its navigation, as captured on 28 August 2026. Psynopsis facts from psynopsis.ai/features, /pricing and /compliance on the same date. Psynopsis medication and MSE workflows were checked against the test workspace and source on October 23, 2026. “Not stated” means we could not find the claim on their public site. PMHScribe is a trademark of its owner. Corrections: support@psynopsis.ai.
Inside the medication workflow
Medication references beside the encounter.
The Medication Safety panel surfaces detected medication names and searchable reference cards with warnings, counseling information, and source links. The clinician verifies doses and patient-specific risks.
See medication managementWorkflow illustration · not an app screenshot
Bottom line
PMHScribe and Psynopsis are the two psychiatry-specific scribes in this series, and both were built by PMHNPs, so the decision comes down to what you need the note to do. If you are a therapist, or you want letters, prior authorizations and patient education from one tool, PMHScribe’s plans are built for that. If you prescribe and want the scribe to review medication information, complete the MSE and document SI/HI — and to document without recording when a patient prefers it — Psynopsis does that at $75 a month with 5 free hours to test it.
Try Psynopsis freeLearn more
Psynopsis features
Medication references, MSE review, structured SI/HI and post-session dictation — every feature on one page.
Read more PricingPricing
Free Basic tier, Professional at $75 a month, Enterprise for groups. No credit card to start.
Read more ComparisonPsynopsis vs JotPsych
A behavioral-health practice platform compared with a psychiatric scribe.
Read more GuideBest AI scribe for psychiatrists (2026)
Six tools judged on medication accuracy, MSE and SI/HI structure, no-recording dictation, 42 CFR Part 2 and price.
Read moreKeep your EHR. Upgrade your notes.
Psychiatric documentation that understands your workflow. MSE, medication changes, SI/HI — captured in a structured draft while you focus on your patients.
Test with synthetic or de-identified examples · BAA on paid plans